Subcommittee on Government Operations

The Subcommittee on Government Operations, chaired by Rep. John Mica (FL-07), oversees the efficiency and management of government operations and activities, working to ensure public access to information through its oversight of the Freedom of Information Act, the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Presidential Records Act, and the National Archives and Records Administration. The Subcommittee has primary jurisdiction over federal property, federal information technology and data standards.

Recent Hearings

U.S. Census Bureau: Addressing Data Collection Vulnerabilities

Local Time: 2:00 p.m. in 2247 Rayburn House Office Building

Protecting International Religious Freedom

Local Time: 2:00 p.m. in 2154 Rayburn House Office Building

Examining ObamaCare’s Failures in Security, Accountability, and Transparency

Local Time: 11:00 a.m. in 2154 Rayburn House Office Building
View all Hearings/Markups

Press Releases

HHS’ “Covert Ops Mission”

September 17, 2014
“Even today, the non-partisan Government Accountability Office informs Congress that CMS refuses t...

Issa and Cummings Issue Statement on Agreement to Begin HGH Testing in NFL

September 17, 2014
“We are very pleased that the NFL and the Players Association have reached a final agreement on a ...

Oversight Committee Approves Bipartisan Inspector General Empowerment Legislation

September 17, 2014
“With Inspectors General facing obstruction by agencies, this legislation provides much-needed too...
View all Press Releases

Committee Chairman

John Mica

Republican Committee Members

Vice Chair
Mark Meadows
Justin Amash
Michael Turner
Thomas Massie

Democrat Committee Members

Ranking Member
Gerald E. Connolly
Jim Cooper