Hearing on U.S. Cybersecurity Preparedness and H.R. 7331, the National Cyber Director Act

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 - 12:00pm

Chairwoman Maloney's Opening Statement [PDF]



Washington D.C. (July 13, 2020)— On Wednesday, July 15, 2020, at 12:00 p.m. E.T., Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney, the Chairwoman of the Committee on Oversight and Reform, will hold a remote hearing to examine U.S. cybersecurity preparedness and the bipartisan  H.R. 7331, the National Cyber Director Act, which would create the position of a National Cyber Director within the White House to lead national-level coordination of cyber strategy and policy. 


Cyberattacks are a critical, complex, prevalent, and growing threat to the nation’s safety and economic security, touching nearly every aspect of daily life.  The coronavirus crisis serves as a prime example of the extent to which sophisticated cybercriminals rapidly adapt their tactics to target perceived vulnerabilities by exploiting catastrophes.  By the end of March, every country in the world had seen at least one attack aimed at exploiting the coronavirus crisis.  


Currently, federal cybersecurity responsibilities are spread across multiple agencies and subject to a constantly evolving cyberthreat landscape.  A key recommendation of the Cyberspace Solarium Commission, which was established by the FY 2019 National Defense Authorization Act, is the creation of the National Cyber Director in the Executive Office of the President to streamline the federal government’s response to a cyberattack across agencies.


Wednesday’s hearing will examine these concerns and how they are addressed in H.R. 7331, which would create the role of a National Cyber Director.  


Panel One

The Honorable James R. Langevin 
Commissioner, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission
Member of Congress

The Honorable Mike Gallagher 
Co-Chair, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission
Member of Congress

Panel Two

The Honorable Michael J. Rogers
David Abshire Chair, Center for the Study of the Presidency & Congress, Chairman, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (2011-2015)

Mr. J. Michael Daniel
President and Chief Executive Officer, Cyber Threat Alliance, White House Cybersecurity Coordinator (2012-2017)

Mr. Amit Yoran
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Tenable, Founding Director, U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) (2003-2004)

Ms. Suzanne Spaulding 
Senior Adviser, Homeland Security, Center for Strategic & International Studies, International Security Program, on behalf of Commissioner, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission

Mr. Jamil N. Jaffer
Founder & Executive Director, National Security Institute, George Mason University

116th Congress