Preventing Stimulus Waste and Fraud: Who are the Watchdogs?

Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 12:56pm

On Thursday, March 19 at 10:00 a.m., the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform held a hearing titled, “Preventing Stimulus Waste and Fraud: Who are the Watchdogs?” The hearing, which took place in room 2154 Rayburn House Office Building,reviewed the organizations and officials responsible for oversight of spending under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. In addition, the hearing reviewed what proactive steps these officials are taking to prevent wasteful spending, as well as plans for audits and investigations to identify and prosecute fraud in stimulus programs.

Witnesses for the hearing included:


Mr. Earl E. Devaney, Chairman, Recovery Act Accountability and Transparency Board Recovery Act


Mr. William G. Holland, Auditor General of Illinois, National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers, and Treasurers (NASACT)

Mr. David P. Gragan, Chief Procurement Officer for Washington, D.C., National Association of State Procurement Officials (NASPO)

Mr. Jerome Heer, Director of Audits for the County of Milwaukee, Association of Local Government Auditors (ALGA)

Mr. Jerry Brito, Senior Research Fellow, Mercatus Center at George Mason University

111th Congress