Chairwoman Maloney Issues Statement on DOJ Authorizing Officials to Speak to Committee on Trump’s Effort to Overturn Election

Jul 27, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (July 27, 2021)—Today, Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney, the Chairwoman of the Committee on Oversight and Reform, issued the following statement after receiving letters from the Department of Justice (DOJ) authorizing former Trump Administration officials to sit for Committee interviews regarding former President Trump’s efforts to enlist DOJ officials to help him overturn the 2020 election:


“The Oversight Committee is investigating former President Trump’s brazen attempts to pressure the Justice Department to try to overturn the 2020 election.  I am pleased that the Justice Department has recognized that the Committee has ‘compelling legislative interests’ in understanding the ‘extraordinary events’ surrounding President Trump’s conduct, and that DOJ has authorized key officials to provide ‘unrestricted testimony’ to the Committee without asserting claims of privilege.  I expect prompt cooperation from these witnesses, and I am committed to getting to the bottom of the previous Administration’s attempts to subvert the Justice Department and reverse a free and fair election.”


On June 15, 2021, the Committee released new documents showing President Trump’s efforts to pressure DOJ to overturn the lawful results of the 2020 presidential election. 


In light of the new documents, the Committee requested that Former Acting Attorney General Jeffrey Rosen, Former White House Chief of Staff Mark Meadows, Former Acting Deputy Attorney General Richard Donoghue, Former Assistant Attorney General Jeffrey Clark, Former Associate Deputy Attorney General Patrick Hovakimian, Former U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Georgia Byung Jin Pak, and Former Acting U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Georgia Bobby Christine appear for transcribed interviews regarding any efforts by President Trump and others to advance unsubstantiated allegations of voter fraud or seek to overturn the 2020 election.


Click here to read the letter to Jeffrey Rosen.


Click here to read the letter to Richard P. Donoghue.


Click here to read the letter to Patrick Hovakimian.


Click here to read the letter to Byung Jin Pak.


Click here to read the letter to Bobby L. Christine.


Click here to read the letter to Jeffrey B. Clark.



117th Congress