Chairwoman Maloney, Norton Announce Details for First D.C. Statehood Committee Vote Since 1993

Feb 7, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (Feb. 7, 2020)—Today, Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney, the Chairwoman of the Committee on Oversight and Reform, along with Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, announced details for the Committee’s markup and vote on a D.C. statehood bill on Tuesday, February 11, at 10:00 A.M.  The Committee vote is the first congressional vote on DC statehood since 1993.

The Committee expects a large turnout for the historic event.  Doors at the Rayburn House Office Building open at 7:30 A.M., but doors to the hearing room (room 2154) will not open until 9:45 A.M.

The bill, introduced by Norton in January 2019, would admit the State of Washington, Douglass Commonwealth into the Union as a State consisting of most of the territory of the present-day District of Columbia.

The bill has 224 cosponsors, and both Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Majority Leader Steny Hoyer have strongly endorsed the bill.

Details are as follows:

WHERE:  2154 Rayburn House Office Building

WHEN:  Tuesday, February 11, 2020

TIME:  10:00 A.M.

Seating is not guaranteed

The markup will take place in Rayburn 2154.  There will be three overflow rooms with wheelchair-accessible seating:  Rayburn 2141, 2247 and 2203.  Seating is not guaranteed and will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis.

Accommodations for individuals with disabilities may be arranged by contacting Chioma Chukwu at or (202) 225-5051 at least 72 hours in advance of the scheduled business meeting.

Ways to Watch:

First, you can come to the Rayburn House Office Building before the markup and find a seat in one of the rooms.  Again, seating will be limited.

Second, Maloney and Norton recommend that D.C. residents watch at home or online on the Committee’s YouTube page or the Committee’s homepage, which will be streaming the event live.

Social media: 

Follow along with the hashtag #DCstatehood.


116th Congress