Oversight Committee to Hold Hearing on Bipartisan National Cyber Director Act

Jul 13, 2020
Press Release

Washington D.C. (July 13, 2020)— On Wednesday, July 15, 2020, at 12:00 p.m. E.T., Chairwoman Carolyn B. Maloney will hold a remote hearing before the Committee on Oversight and Reform to examine U.S. cybersecurity preparedness and the bipartisan H.R. 7331, the National Cyber Director Act, which would create the position of a National Cyber Director to lead national-level coordination of cyber strategy and policy.


Cyberattacks are a critical, complex, prevalent, and growing threat to the nation’s safety and economic security, touching nearly every aspect of daily life.  The coronavirus crisis serves as a prime example of the extent to which sophisticated cybercriminals rapidly adapt their tactics to target perceived vulnerabilities by exploiting catastrophes.  By the end of March, every country in the world had seen at least one attack aimed at exploiting the coronavirus crisis.  


Currently, federal cybersecurity responsibilities are spread across multiple agencies and subject to a constantly evolving cyberthreat landscape.  A key recommendation of the Cyberspace Solarium Commission, which was established by the FY 2019 National Defense Authorization Act, is the creation of the National Cyber Director in the Executive Office of the President to streamline the federal government’s response to a cyberattack across agencies.


Wednesday’s hearing will examine these concerns and how they are addressed in H.R. 7331, which would create the role of a National Cyber Director.  




Hearing on U.S. Cybersecurity Preparedness and H.R. 7331, the National Cyber Director Act



Wednesday, July 15, 2020, at 12:00 p.m. E.T.




Panel 1


The Honorable James R. Langevin

Commissioner, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission

Member of Congress


The Honorable Mike Gallagher

Co-Chair, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission

Member of Congress


Panel 2


The Honorable Michael J. Rogers

David Abshire Chair, Center for the Study of the Presidency & Congress

Chairman, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence (2011-2015)


J. Michael Daniel

President and Chief Executive Officer, Cyber Threat Alliance

White House Cybersecurity Coordinator (2012-2017)


Amit Yoran

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Tenable

Founding Director, U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) (2003-2004)


Suzanne Spaulding

Senior Adviser, Homeland Security

International Security Program

Center for Strategic & International Studies

Commissioner, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission


Jamil N. Jaffer

Founder & Executive Director, National Security Institute

George Mason University



A livestream will be available on YouTube and the Committee on Oversight and Reform website.



116th Congress