Select Subcommittee to Hold Hearing on Rooting Out Fraud in Small Business Relief Programs

Mar 22, 2021
Press Release

Washington D.C. (March 22, 2021)—On Thursday, March 25, 2021, at 12:00 p.m. ET, Rep. James E. Clyburn, the Chairman of the Select Subcommittee on the Coronavirus Crisis, will hold a hearing with Small Business Administration (SBA) Inspector General Mike Ware, Pandemic Response Accountability Committee Chair Michael Horowitz, and Government Accountability Office Director of Financial Markets and Community Investments William Shear to examine how the Trump Administration’s mismanagement of small business relief programs led to an unprecedented $85 billion in potentially fraudulent loans.


Last June, the Select Subcommittee sent a letter to the SBA OIG flagging an error at SBA that allowed for duplicate loans. In September, the Select Subcommittee issued a preliminary analysis of Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) data, finding billions of dollars may have been diverted to waste, fraud, and abuse. Last week, responding to requests from the Select Subcommittee, the SBA OIG published a flash report identifying $692 million in duplicate loans.


To detect fraud in small business relief programs, including PPP and the Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) program, the American Rescue Plan is investing an additional $142 million into oversight of these programs.  This hearing will also consider efforts to prevent future fraud and ensure the neediest small businesses receive relief, as intended by Congress.




Select Subcommittee hearing entitled “Rooting Out Fraud in Small Business Relief Programs”



Thursday, March 25, 2021, at 12:00 p.m. ET



The Honorable Hannibal “Mike” Ware

Inspector General, Small Business Administration


The Honorable Michael E. Horowitz

Chair, Pandemic Response Accountability Committee

Inspector General, Department of Justice


William Shear

Director, Financial Markets and Community Investment,

Government Accountability Office



A livestream will be available on YouTube and the Select Subcommittee website.


117th Congress