Subcommittee Chair Krishnamoorthi Calls on FDA to Crackdown on Puff Bar for Illegal Sales of E-Cigarettes

Mar 3, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (Mar. 3, 2021)—Today, Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi, the Chairman of the Subcommittee on Economic and Consumer Policy, sent a letter to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) providing new evidence of illegal e-cigarette sales, and urging immediate action to remove all flavored e-cigarette products sold by Puff Bar from the market and prosecute violators.


“We call on you to take all appropriate action to remove Puff Bar products from the market and to punish those responsible for putting youth at risk by ignoring FDA’s directive to stop sales,” Chairman Krishnamoorthi wrote.  “We encourage you to consider all available enforcement tools, including seizure, injunction, and criminal prosecution.”


The Subcommittee previously wrote to FDA regarding this issue on March 6, 2020 and June 1, 2020.  In response to the Subcommittee’s investigation:  Puff Bar claimed to have ceased all online sales and distribution in the United States, and FDA sent a warning letter to Cool Clouds Distribution, which conducts business as Puff Bar, declaring its sales to be illegal.


In today’s letter, the Subcommittee provided new evidence that Puff Bar has resumed sales and launched new vaping products, in violation of FDA’s previous warning letter.


In addition, the Subcommittee pointed FDA to a Delaware company called DS Technology Licensing, LLC, to which Puff Bar has handed off ownership of its trademarks.


“We encourage you to go beyond simply shutting down DS Technology Licensing—FDA must use all tools at its disposal, including seizure, injunction, and criminal prosecution, to hold accountable the individuals responsible for these flagrant violations of law,” Chairman Krishnamoorthi wrote.  “If individuals caught breaking the law face no penalty, and are able to keep ill-gotten gains, the law will continue to be ignored.  This is the opportunity to set a new standard going forward.”


Click here to read today’s letter.


117th Congress