Skip to main content
Hearing Hearing Date: January 12, 2016 2:00 pm 2154 Rayburn House Office Building

Wassenaar: Cybersecurity and Export Control

Wassenaar: Cybersecurity and Export Control
January 12, 2016
2:00 pm
2154 Rayburn House Office Building

Chairman Will Hurd (R-TX) – Oversight Subcommittee on Information Technology
Chairman John Ratcliffe (R-TX) – Homeland Security Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies


• To review the interagency export control policy and process implementing the 2013 Wassenaar Arrangement cybersecurity technologies additions.
• To review the Department of Commerce’s (Commerce) rule-making process for implementing the Wassenaar export controls.
• To highlight the impact on American businesses and the cybersecurity industry.
• To discuss how the Department of State (State) and their interagency partners should proceed on cybersecurity matters at Wassenaar moving forward.


• In 2013, State agreed to a proposal to make intrusion and surveillance technologies subject to multilateral export controls under the Wassenaar Arrangement.
• The Wassenaar Arrangement is a multilateral export control forum for dual use goods and technology where 41 countries must come to a consensus on proposed export controls. Then, each country implements these controls under their national rules with a significant level of discretion.
• On May 20, 2015, Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) published a proposed rule to implement the 2013 Wassenaar Arrangement control on intrusion and surveillance technologies. In response, BIS received 264 public comments that overwhelmingly opposed the proposed rule. BIS retracted the proposed rule and is reengaging with its interagency partners.


Witnesses and testimonies: The Honorable Kevin J. Wolf

Assistant Secretary for Export Administration
U.S. Department of Commerce


Ms. Phyllis Schneck

Deputy Under Secretary for Cybersecurity and Communications, National Protection and Programs Directorate
U.S. Department of Homeland Security


Ms. Cheri Flynn McGuire

Vice President, Global Government Affairs and Cybersecurity Policy


Mr. Iain Mulholland

Vice President, Engineering Trust and Assurance
VMware, Inc.


Ms. Cristin Flynn Goodwin

Assistant General Counsel, Cybersecurity
Microsoft Corporation


Mr. Dean C. Garfield

President and CEO
Information Technology Industry Council


Mr. Vann H. Van Diepen

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for International Security and Nonproliferation
Department of State


Ms. Ann K. Ganzer

Director of Conventional Arms threat Reduction, Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation
Department of State

Related Documents
Name Document
Transcript Document