Skip to main content
Press Release Published: Jan 12, 2023

Comer Introduces Joint Resolution Challenging D.C. Council’s Push to Allow Non-U.S. Citizens the Right to Vote

The irresponsible D.C. law would subvert the voices of American citizens and open the door for foreign influence in the nation’s capital

WASHINGTON – Today, House Committee on Oversight and Accountability Chairman James Comer (R-Ky.) introduced H. J. Res. 17 to disapprove and challenge the D.C. Local Resident Voting Rights Amendment Act (D.C. Act 26-640), a new law advanced by the D.C. Council allowing non-citizens, including illegal aliens, the right to vote in the nation’s capital.

“Voting is a pillar of American democracy and a constitutional right that undeniably needs to be protected and preserved for citizens of this country,” said Chairman Comer. “The D.C. Council’s reckless decision to allow non-U.S. citizens and illegal immigrants the right to vote in local elections is an attack on the foundation of this republic. This move by the Council is irresponsible and will only exacerbate the ongoing border crisis, subvert the voices of American citizens, and open the door for foreign adversaries to peddle influence in our nation’s capital. It should go without saying: only Americans should have the power to influence local policy and guide their hard-earned taxpayer dollars to important initiatives. All Members of Congress, both Republicans and Democrats, should strongly oppose this radical effort by the D.C. Council and support this Joint Resolution.”

Original cosponsors of H. J. Res. 17 include Representatives Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Michael Cloud (R-Texas), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Byron Donalds (R-Fla.), Pat Fallon (R-Texas), Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), Clay Higgins (R-La.), Jake LaTurner (R-Kan.), Nancy Mace (R-S.C.), Ralph Norman (R-S.C.), August Pfluger (R-Texas), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), and Claudia Tenney (R-N.Y.). Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) plans to introduce the Senate joint resolution.

If passed by the House and Senate, and signed by the President, the Joint Resolution of disapproval would prevent the District of Columbia Council’s Local Resident Voting Rights Amendment Act of 2022 from going into effect.

Read the bill text HERE.